PjPaintings at Salamanca Market March 17, 2018

Happy St Patrick’s Day! It was lively in front of Irish Murphy’s today with green decorations, music and people wearing green hats.
It was a warm, windless, quiet day at the markets.  After the market, during the night, it got stormy.  I fell asleep with the window wide open but I had to close the window part way because the wind was making the blinds flap around.  There also was a strong smoke smell.  I wondered if a lightning strike had started a fire somewhere.  Then the rains came.  We desperately need rain, so it was a welcome sound.  I’m glad it arrived when it did, rather than yesterday, on a market day.
Four couples from Bathurst, NSW, are spending two weeks in Tassie, celebrating a 60th birthday. They purchased a “Salamanca Saturdays” print as a souvenir.
Salamanca Saturdays smlPNG
Salamanca Market with Mt Wellington in the backdrop
Then I met four women, from Bathurst, NSW, that have been friends since they were 18 years old. They are spending four days in Tasmania, also celebrating a 60th birthday. They’ve bought shares in a race horse, so “Off to the Races!” was the print for them.
Off to the RacesxsmlPNG
Off to the Races!
Then I met a flutist from…, you guessed it, Bathurst, NSW, who has been invited to play with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra’s Peer Gynt Suite. She purchased two prints from the Cheer ‘em Up series: “All Ears” and “Duck Crossing”. An “All Ears” is also going to Donnybrook, Western Australia.
All EarsPNG
All Ears
Duck CrossingsmlPNG
Duck Crossing
Then I met three different groups of people, unknown to one another, all from New Mexico, USA. Uncanny! One bought “Story time” and the other, a small platypus painting. She said that there were two things that she wanted to see when she visited Tassie and they were to see a platypus and wombat in the wild, and she did! She is lucky because platypus are quite elusive.
Story timePNG
Story time
This week’s most popular print is: Thunder! One of the people that purchased “Thunder!” is a young couple from the Central Coast, NSW. He left his driver’s licence at the stall. I tried to find them when I noticed it but couldn’t see them. I’ve left a Facebook Message, so hopefully he will contact me soon. I doubt that he even realises that his licence is missing. (He’s checked Facebook and all is well – he’s been reunited with his driver’s licence).
elephantsPNG.png
A thought to ponder: Thomas Merton – “Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.”
P.S. My website is back up (www.pjpaintings.com). Not all the images have been loaded but hopefully by the end of the week it will be completed.
Take care and I hope that your upcoming week is great,
from the Pjpaintings stall #30 at Salamanca Market.

Leave a comment