Day 11, 12, 13 #Inktober Challenge

Day 11

For Day 11 of the Inktober Challenge I drew a Black-faced Cuckoo Shrike.  The pattern and colouring of their back feathers is what attracted me to this bird.  The name is apparently a reference to their feathers, which have a similar pattern to those of cuckoos, and their beak which resembles that of shrikes.  This bird is native to Australia and southern new Guinea.  It has a protected status in Australia.

Black-faced Cuckoo Shrike
An Artline ink drawing of the Black-faced Cuckoo Shrike
Black faced cuckoo
A Black-faced Cuckoo Shrike photo by Bruce Bain

Day 12

For Day 12 of Inktober I drew Zebra Finches

zebra finch

zebra finches
Zebra Finches photo by Roy Beckham

Day 13

A drawing a day is starting to feel relentless.  Where is the Finish Line!?  I haven’t been paying too much attention to the Inktober prompts but ideas and my enthusiasm for Inktober is starting to wane.  The prompt word for day 13 is ‘teeming’ so I thought I would draw a page of teeming insects.  I didn’t draw as many as I intended.  I lost steam.

teeming bugs
teeming insects?  Top left is a Tectocoris diophthalmus, Scutelleridae, the one next to it is a Ectomocoris decoratus Stal, Reduviidae, top right insect is a Morna Florens, Pentatomidae and the bottom right hand insect is a Peltocopta crassiventris, Tessaratomidae 
teeming bugspage
teeming insects’ page

Well, what shall I draw today???

Any suggestions?

 

Leave a Reply

