Elegant Venice

Despite Annette and I somewhat struggling with jetlag, we hit the cobblestones determined to do some urban sketching. We weren’t quite brave enough to bring our stools out and set ourselves up in the midst of the crowds but we did some sketching standing up. I actually did three and will try to finish them off.  This is the first drawing that I’ve finished. It is a scene I came across in my wanders in absolutely stunning Venice. The back of these buildings were very close to the Grand Canal.  I used a Lami Fountain pen.  When I applied watercolour, the ink ran and I lost some of my detail work. 😞

Note to Self: Do not ink the whole drawing when using a Lami Fountain Ink Pen because the ink bleeds way too much!!!  Ink the windows, under side of eaves and  so on, but not areas where I want light and clean colours. For example, the dome and the patterned eaves. The dome ended up being much darker then intended and I lost the beautiful patterning of the eaves. The top of the dome was virtually a silvery, tinged with turquoise colour.  Next time, note-to-self-person, paint the dome and eaves first, then apply the ink. Got it, hope I remember.

image
The back of buildings near the Grand Canal, Venice, Italy        May 27,2017

When we were leaning against the wall, sketching, a man set up his easle and a lady sat herself on a stool behind us and started sketching. Before we left, I introduced myself and found that the couple knew very little English.  Actually the woman knew no English and the gentleman very little. He told me that they were from Belgium but now living in Montreal, Canada. We then had a quite pleasant conversation in French and exchanged our emigration stories.

Hopefully Annette and I sleep well tonight so that we can make an early urban sketching start tomorrow with our urban sketching stools.

Leave a Reply

