PjPaintings at Salamanca Market January 19, 2019

Over the years, I have submitted applications to several art co-op galleries but having a day job has been a barrier to being accepted because it limits the days you can do gallery duty and your flexibility to pick up days when a member is sick or on holidays. Nevertheless, after my fourth time applying to Artefacts Inc Gallery, in the Salamanca Arts Centre, I am very excited that I have been accepted!! I now have the opportunity to display and sell some of my prints, original paintings, pouches and tote bags and do gallery duty. I’ll mainly be doing gallery duty on Mondays. It would be lovely if you could call in and have a chat. It hosts the stunning work of a Tasmanian wood turner, glass maker, jewellery maker, ceramics, leatherwork and watercolour & acrylic painter.
 
When I went by the gallery this morning, I noticed that it wasn’t open. I unexpectedly opened and minded the gallery for an hour or so until the member on duty arrived.
 
Back at the Pj Paintings stall, two girlfriends, one from London, UK, and the other from Sydney, NSW, holidaying together in Tasmania and then driving the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, bought a ‘Mercedes Time’ print for a souvenir of their driving holiday.
mercedesxsml
Mercedes Time!
 
A couple from Washington, DC, USA, bought ‘Yellow Poppy Fields’ and ‘Do-Si-Do’. They have a relative that square dances. A perfect gift for a square dancer!
Do-Si-Doxsml
Do-si-do
 
A group of four, from Emu Plains, NSW, purchased an original painting of a wombat, a ‘Family Outing’ print and an ‘Under My Red Umbrella’ tote bag.
hanging out for Christmassml
Original painting of a wombat just hanging out among the gum leaves

under my red umbrellasml

 
A lady, who is what is often referred to as “snowbirds” on the North American continent, lives half a year in Spain and the other half of the year in Florida, USA, purchased an ‘Outback Glamping’ print as she had visited Uluru. Her son lives in Alice Spring.
A mother and young daughter, starting grade three in a few weeks, purchased four A-5 sized prints of Tasmanian scenes that I’ve painted. The girl reminded her mother several times that she had to get back to keep working. I asked her what she was working on and she said that she was making a stadium for her 11 year old brother’s birthday. I queried how she was constructing this elaborate-sounding birthday present. It is being built inside a cardboard box with more cardboard, paper, glue, crayons and paints. What an admirable project and unique birthday present. I hope her brother appreciates the effort and remembers that ‘it is the thought that counts’.
 
A young boy and his mother visited the stall. The boy told me that he loves owls. He had to spend his own money to buy an owl print. That’s a huge sacrifice and I feel doubly honoured when a child uses their own money to buy my art. His mother bought a ‘Sleepyhead’ print for herself.
sleepyhead
Sleepyhead
 
Another child, a little older than the boy who had just bought an owl print, this one seemed close to the 12 year old range, bought a ‘Thunder’ print. She loves elephants.
elephants 2015smlcropped
Thunder!
 
The day ended with two young ladies arriving at the market, and my stall, after 3 pm, when many have already completely packed up or are well into the packing-up process. They bought a ‘Suspended’ print. They were planning to see the rest of the market. I recommended that they walk really, really quickly, as the market has 353 stalls.
SuspendedPNG
Suspended
 
After packing up, I drove the long way home, as the most direct route to the Tasman Bridge was closed due to the installation of the Remembrance Bridge. It was bumper-to-bumper and a slow ride home.
 
The most popular print this weekend was: Salamanca Saturdays
A thought to ponder: “Imagination is more important than knowledge.” Albert Einstein
 
Thanks for stopping by,
from the Pjpaintings stall #30 at Salamanca Market.
Pj Paintings’ prints, tote bags and pouches are available at http://www.pjpaintings.com

Leave a comment